Center for Teaching and Learning

Award nomination form

Thank you for nominating an instructor for a UW Teaching Award by filling out the form below.

The Distinguished Teaching Award, Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology, and the Excellence in Teaching Award honors UW faculty members, graduate teaching assistants, and graduate instructors for their outstanding work with students.

The Clowes Award honors a UW faculty or staff member for their work in building and fostering learning communities.

Please visit our award descriptions page for additional information about eligibility.

Teaching Award Nomination Form

  • Your information

  • Who are you nominating?

  • Which award are you nominating this instructor for?

    Teaching Award criteria are listed on our award descriptions page.
  • Nomination letter

    In 150-300 words, please explain why you are nominating this instructor, focusing on the impact their teaching has on student learning. Examples are encouraged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

2020-21 Timeline

  • October 1 – November 16, 2020: Teaching Award Committee accepts online nominations for the 2021 DTA, DTA-I, ETA, and James D. Clowes awards.
  • December 1, 2020: Nominees are notified by email and publicly listed on CTL’s Teaching Award nominees page.
  • December 1, 2020 – January 19, 2021: Complete nomination packages are due by January 19 at 5:00 p.m.  For instructions see: How to submit supporting materials.
  • Spring quarter 2021: Award recipients are publicly listed on CTL’s Teaching Award recipients page.


See our FAQs page or contact Christine Sugatan at