Center for Teaching and Learning

Nomination process & timeline

Each year we ask the UW community to recognize outstanding teaching by nominating current faculty members, graduate TAs, and graduate instructors for a teaching award. This year there are four awards:

  • Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Distinguished Teaching Award for Innovation with Technology
  • Excellence in Teaching Award
  • James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities

The following is a summary of the Teaching Award nomination process and timeline.

Nomination process

Step 1: Submit an online nomination

The Teaching Award Selection Committee accepts nominations every October and November (please see the timeline below for exact dates).

Students, staff, and faculty members are encouraged to nominate current UW instructors for a teaching award. Information about award eligibility and criteria are on our award descriptions page.

Successful submissions will be descriptive, reflecting the impact the instructor has had on the student academic experience through teaching, mentoring, innovations with technology, service, and more.

Nomination Form

Step 2: Award nominees are notified

Teaching Award nominees are notified by email and publicly listed on CTL’s Teaching Award nominees page in December. See the timeline below for exact dates.

Step 3: Nominees submit supporting materials

Teaching award nominees must submit a complete package of supporting materials by 5:00 p.m. on January 20.

For instructions and a list of required materials see: How to submit supporting materials.

2020-21 Timeline

  • October 5 – November 16, 2020: Teaching Award Committee accepts online nominations for the 2021 DTA, DTA-I, ETA, and James D. Clowes awards.
  • December 7, 2020: Nominees are notified by email and publicly listed on CTL’s Teaching Award nominees page.
  • December 7, 2020 – January 20, 2021: Complete nomination packages are due by January 20 at 5:00 p.m.  For instructions see: How to submit supporting materials.
  • June 2021: Award recipients are publicly listed on CTL’s Teaching Award recipients page.


See our FAQs page or contact Christine Sugatan at